Religious Education Corner

First Day of Sunday School is August 20, 2017   9:00am

Session Date Event 10:30 Youth Mass readers
  Sun, 20-Aug 1st day of classes  
  Sun, 27-Aug (empanada sale*)  
NO class Sun, 3-Sep Labor Day  
  Sun, 10-Sep Youth Resurrection Experience* 4th – 6th grade
  Sun, 17-Sep   Teens
  Sun, 24-Sep (food sales*)  
  Sun, 1-Oct    
  Sun, 8-Oct Multicultural -adult preparation* (blood drive) Middle/High School
  Sun, 15-Oct Men’s Resurrection Experience Teens
  Sun, 22-Oct    
  Sun, 29-Oct (empanada sale*)

1st Communion Class-10:30

All Saints presentation*

  Sun, 5-Nov    
  Sun, 12-Nov   1st Communion
  Sun, 19-Nov   Teens
NO class Sun, 26-Nov Thanksgiving (empanada sale*)  
  Sun, 3-Dec    
  Sun, 10-Dec Christmas pageant* 2nd -3rd grade
NO class Sun, 17-Dec Christmas break Teens
NO class Sun, 24-Dec Christmas break  
NO class Sun, 31-Dec (Feast of the Holy Family)  
  Sun, 7-Jan (Feast of Epiphany)  
  Sun, 14-Jan   Older Communion
  Sun, 21-Jan   Teens
NO class Sun, 28-Jan Women’s Resurrection Experience  
  Sun, 4-Feb    
  Sun, 11-Feb (Ash Wed - Feb 14) (Fri -Stations & Fish Fry*) 4th – 6th grade
  Sun, 18-Feb (Friday -Stations & Fish Fry*) Teens
  Sun, 25-Feb (Friday -Stations RCIA & Fish Fry*) (RCIA stations)
  Sun, 4-Mar (Friday -Stations & Fish Fry-RCIA*) (RCIA Fish Fry)

RETREAT

No Class

Fri, 9-Mar

Sat, 10- Mar Sun, 11-Mar

(Friday -Stations CCD & retreat)

(Saturday-retreat)

Sunday NO class

(CCD reading Stations)

Middle/High School

NO class Sun, 18-Mar (Friday -Stations & Fish Fry*CCD Fish Fry) Teens
  Tue, 20-Mar Lenten Penitential Service  
  Sun, 25-Mar Palm Sunday ACRE testing  
NO class Sun, 1-Apr Easter  
  Sun, 8-Apr   CCD
  Sun, 15-Apr   Teens
  Sun, 22-Apr    
  Sun, 29-Apr 1st Communion Rehearsal  
  Sun, 6-May 1st Communion  
No Class Sun, 13-May Mother’s Day  
  Sun, 20-May Last day of class  

*service hours available    

 

 

 

"Hear, O Israel! The LORD is our God, the LORD alone.  Therefore, you shall love the LORD, your God, with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your strength.  Take to heart these words which I enjoin on you today. Drill them into your children. Speak of them at home and abroad, whether you are busy or at rest.  Bind them at your wrist as a sign and let them be as a pendant on your forehead.   Write them on the doorposts of your houses and on your gates." Deuteronomy 6: 4-9
        
"Parents are the first and foremost catechists of their children." - National Catechetical Directory #212.  

Our staff of dedicated volunteer catechists are here to help "carry out the promise which the Church makes at every Baptism: to support, pray for and intruct the baptized and foster their growth in faith." NCD #213. Catechesis is a process - not a program.

We are all called to life-long learning. Our Sunday School offers catechesis for Preschool up to adults. Parent classes can be received in either English or Spanish.

decisionpoint

Decision Point Confirmation Program link

English Filipino Italian Polish Portuguese Spanish

parishcalendar

dailyreadings

ccd

rright Sunday School Forms

Canon 226.2 Because they gave life to their children, parents have the most serious obligation and the right to educate them. It is therefore primarily the responsibility of christian parents to ensure the christian education of their children in accordance with the teaching of the Church.

Canon 226.1 Those who are married are bound by the special obligation, in accordance with their own vocation, to strive for the building up of the people of God through their marriage and family.